Acoustic Blend with Barrett Myers
Acoustic Blend Podcast
Thoughts on "Going back"
3
0:00
-17:59

Thoughts on "Going back"

3

Note: let’s not call it a podcast quite yet (although I think Substack insists). Listen in for some additional thoughts on the most recent installment of Acoustic Blend. For those of you with a Spotify subscription, you can find the audio above along with the entire show here.

Since releasing this month’s show and playlist I’ve continued to ponder the theme of “going back” and my relationship with the past, present and future. As I mention in this contemplative companion to Acoustic Blend, I can often describe my stance toward the past or future as either closed-fisted or open-handed.

Many times I have ruminated on the past in attempt to “figure it out” or make sense of it, perhaps concocting my own explanations for why things turned out the way they did. I have also been known to cling tightly to specific outcomes or the way events might unfold. Even in writing this I am aware of my desire to find just the right words to capture exactly what I mean.

But in publishing this recording that I made one Saturday morning in my garage, I am practicing loosening that grip and engaging in a bit of play. As I mention in the audio, I have been mesmerized by the sandcastle imagery in “There Goes Mavis.” It’s not lost on me that the song describes a playful activity (building a sandcastle) as a very serious endeavor requiring tight-fisted vigilance.

You can hear more of these musings in the audio above or on Spotify. Without a Spotify subscription you’ll still be able to hear my wonderful voice but will only hear 30 second snippets of the music. I have also considered also publishing the playlists via Apple Music (or elsewhere?), so let me know if that would float your boat.

Here’s to more open-handed living. Until next time,

Barrett

3 Comments
Acoustic Blend with Barrett Myers
Acoustic Blend Podcast
Introductions and thoughts on Barrett Myers' monthly playlists, featured on WBAA's Acoustic Blend radio program.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Barrett Myers